middle English humour

returning from shopping today, crossing the car park that leads to my compound, I noticed two well-suited men in their early forties standing next to a car, the front of which was close to a railing which I use when getting onto the pavement. The other man stood to the right, blocking a slight alternative route. They were talking. So I walked straight up to the first one and, when he did not move, once I was quite close, I said, pointing to the railing, I need to hold on to that to get up there, pointing to the compound gate right up the pavement. So the man shifted, and his companion said: I see, and I thought we were making friends. Equally pleasantly, I replied: Not with me. 😊😎 We all laughed. Sometimes life can be simple. And pleasant.

~ by Barbara S on April 23, 2024.