flat-foot traveller making a friend

He looks at me intently, holding his bike as I push mine onto the path. Is he 7 or maybe 10 at most? I gather he may not speak English from the way he does not reply with words when I greet him, but those dark eyes hold deep. At some point he catches up with me on the path and mimics my flat smile with straight lips. And before I know it, he must have turned round, because as I leave the site and turn left outside the gate on the lane, he stands there looking at me, through the fence, from a deep, deep asking soul. And touches mine right through.

Now, every time I come home or go out, I look for him – but he is not there.

~ by Barbara S on October 17, 2016.

2 Responses to “flat-foot traveller making a friend”

  1. I am reminded of the depth and beauty the painter Otto Pankok found among the gypsies in Dusseldorf.

  2. http://www.pankok.de/seiten/zigeuner.html

Leave a Reply

 
