I am safe – Mar 1984

My son is 8 and spending a holiday with his dad. I have returned to my favourite hills near Goppingen, to climb to the ruins of Hohenstaufen castle, a steady walk uphill thorugh town, from the station of some 2 hours. Walking through the woods is comfortable as the sun comes through the leaves but it is not too warm. From the top, I will walk further along the crest to a sister mountain with a castle maintained as a museum and a small pub.

Coming up through the woods, though, first I need to take in the view – with the Alps, Italy and Austria in the far distance, to the south. As I stand and breathe, taking in the view.

 

air like wave rolling over me from afar

from there comes meaning: I am –

part of eternal history

~ by Barbara S on June 11, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
