Cader Idris – 1999 – 2006

Years after I had moved away,to work in England, my son wrote ‘I like thinking of you living in Wales’ – so do I, son, so do I.
cregennan_lakes_picture

I’d like to to think, the landscape is still with me, like an invisible tattoo perhaps. or perhaps it’s much deeper?

One day, I took my elderly neighbour in her little red car, up the single track road to my favourite spot – and looking around, breathing – I said ‘all this will still be here when we are long gone’. The feisty woman replied curtly ‘no need to be so morbid’.
Yet, for me, there was, there is comfort still in the mountain’s presence, the Lakes’ presence in my life. The old lady could not see that. Yet, when later, she was in hospital dying I don’t know what it was that she, lifelong spinster, saw when she told me, beaming “I am getting married now!” –

~ by Barbara S on March 24, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
