Love Loving Love – Nov 1985

Ruth Pfau, nun and Doctor, for many decades in Pakistan, in one of her books describes a dialogue with a Muslim or non-religious friend who asks her about the Trinity in Christianity.

She replies, if I remember, that if God is Love then the Love must not only be directed towards something or someone but also the overflowing must be part of it… He is stunned.

Corrie ten Boom, in her autobiography, describes how her father suggested to her, when she was abandoned by her fiancée, she may want to offer the love she felt for him – to God. And she did.

It seems to me that the inner movement both these episodes describe, taking into account that “the only g-o-d worth talking about can’t be talked about” – describe a realisation of a certain human potential, perhaps a specific response to abundance.

In the New Testament, Apostles, Jesus advises his followers to go out to see people… – and if in any house their love would be rejected, it would come back to them and stay with them.

Beyond the words I don’t have and beyond the religion I don’t follow, I can only point in the direction of the experience I had in one psychodrama session – playing a friend’s sister. In the scene, my friend was sitting opposite her sister and repeating over and over, ‘I can’t help you, I can’t help you…’ Yet, I, as acting, did not feel rejected – but an abundance of love. Love stayed with me.

~ by Barbara S on April 19, 2014.

One Response to “Love Loving Love – Nov 1985”

  1. The psychiatrist who developed Psychodrama, Jacob Levy Moreno, says of this kind of therapeutic play ‘Every true second time liberates from the first…’ So, even if I did not suffer exactly this type of emotional abandonment in my childhood, the acting liberated me. It even triggered a great insight. Yet, it did more – it echoed a series of moments – impossible to say which was the first one: All liberated from …

    As the Zen-Buddhist koan says: Where was I before was abandonned to my liberation?

Leave a Reply

 
