Echo – July 1993

(2012)
This morning, I woke with the sense of an experience early in 1993, vividly alive within me – not the image, but the felt sense of it.

And I almost heard those words again: “Will you hold my hand?”
I was working in a Nursing Home, where a lady in her 80s said them to me, one night, at the beginning of my shift. I knew that she had refused a leg amputation the doctors had said she needed to have in order to live. and she had returned that afternoon from a visit to her husband’s at their home. I had just helped her on and off a bed pan, so that was not what she was referring to.  – I did indeed come to hold her hand, early the next morning, after I had finished my other duties. I came and sat with her. She did not say anything. I held her hand. She breathed slowly. And then she breathed out and was gone.

Round the World,
Simply No Where –
Gone

~ by Barbara S on November 8, 2012.

2 Responses to “Echo – July 1993”

  1. This memory came back to me on the day I was invited to attend a meeting at the local prison about setting up a community chaplaincy/resettlement project.
    The felt sense of clarity being breathed into me did not leave me all day, so the meeting went well and without much of the tension I am familar with.
    In the film about James Baldwin’s life, one of his friends who was at his bedside with him when Jimmy died, says “he took us with him, and when we came back he was gone” – a graceful and liberating experience.
    It seems to me now I am alright if or when or as long as I can maintain that inner clarity or freedom. It is difficult to put into words – it is at the same time a feeling of being hollowed out while serving a greater intention (beyond anybody’s will power though) while also sustaining a sense of an inner Presence – beyond any deity.
    The Swiss Luterhan Pastor Kurti Marti wrote in a poem
    “Du – uns leicht ins Zellengewebe erhoeht.”
    You – raised ever so gently, in our bodies.

  2. In this act of holding the lady’s hand, as she had asked me to, I responded to the honour of her asking me. A breathless love, and being present over-ruled and other considerations. Meaning and no-meanign were one. In awe and gratitude.

Leave a Reply

 
